Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection Announces Consumer Advisory Board’s New Appointments

The Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection announced on Wednesday the new appointments to the Consumer Advisory Board (CAB). According to the Bureau, the newly appointed members include experts in consumer protection, financial services, fintech, community development, fair lending, civil rights, and consumer financial products and services as well as representatives of community banks and credit unions.

“Advisory committee membership reflects the expertise across the range of issues under the Bureau’s jurisdiction. New members to the Consumer Advisory Board, Community Bank Advisory Council, and Credit Union Advisory Council will serve a one-year term.”

The organization announced the following was selected for three divisions – Consumer Advisory Board Members, Community Bank Advisory Council Members, and Credit Union Advisory Council Members. The three advisory committees notably provide advice to Bureau leadership on a broad range of consumer financial issues and emerging market trends.

Consumer Advisory Board Members

  • Liz Coyle, Executive Director, Georgia Watch
  • Sameh Elamawy, Chief Executive Officer, Scratch Services, Inc.
  • Manning Field, Chief Operating Officer, Acorns
  • Jason B. Gross,   Chief Executive Officer, Petal
  • Clinton B. Gwin, President and CEO, Pathway Lending
  • Ronald A. Johnson, President, Clark Atlanta University
  • Brent Neiser, Senior Director of Strategic Programs and Alliances, National Endowment for Financial Education
  • Sophie Raseman, Director of Product, Brightside
  • Luz Urrutia, Chief Executive Officer, Opportunity Fund

Community Bank Advisory Council Members

  • John Erik Beguin, Founder, CEO, and President, Austin Capital Bank
  • Bryan Bruns, President & CEO, Lake Central Bank
  • Maureen Busch, Vice President, Compliance and CRA Officer, The Bank of Tampa
  • Michael H. Head, President/CEO/Director, First Federal Savings Bank
  • Aubery L. Hulings, Vice President, Operations Manager, The Farmers National Bank of Emlenton
  • Heidi Sexton, EVP/Chief Operating Officer, Sound Community Bank
  • Jeanni Stahl, SVP/Chief Risk and Compliance Officer, MetaBank

Credit Union Advisory Council Members

  • Arlene Babwah, Vice President Risk Management, Coastal Federal Credit Union
  • Sean Cahill, President & CEO, Southwest 66 Credit Union
  • Teresa Campbell, President & CEO, San Diego County Credit Union
  • Christopher Court, Vice President, Accounting & Operations, Service 1st Federal Credit Union
  • James Hunsanger, Chief Risk Officer, Michigan State University Federal Credit Union
  • Bryan Price, President & CEO, Indiana University Credit Union
  • Eric Schmidt, President & CEO, WestStar Credit Union

Manning Field, who is Chief Operating Officer of Acorns, shared his thoughts about joining the advisory board:

“At Acorns, we serve the 182 million Americans who make less than $100k/year — we call them the up-and-coming — to empower them with financial confidence. I am proud to represent Acorns on the Consumer Advisory Board and advocate on behalf of those financially underserved.”

Sponsored Links by DQ Promote



Send this to a friend