Two New Commissioners Join CFTC Following Senate Confirmation

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) has two new Commissioners following the Senate confirmation of Dawn Stump and Dan Berkovitz. The addition of Stump and Berkovitz means the Commission is fully staffed joining Brian Quintenz, Rostin Behnam and Chair J. Christopher Giancarlo.

Until recently, Berkovitz was a Partner and co-chair of the futures and derivatives practice at the law firm of WilmerHale. He has previous CFTC experience as he served as General Counsel of the CFTC Commodity Futures Trading Commission from 2009-2013.

Stump, a Capitol Hill veteran, was President of her consulting firm she launched in 2016 – Stump Strategic. Prior to this, she was the Executive Director and Senior Vice President of U.S. Policy for the Futures Industry Association and as a Vice President at the New York Stock Exchange.

“On behalf of the entire agency, I am delighted to welcome Dawn Stump and Dan Berkovitz as Commissioners to the Commodity Futures Trading Commission,” commented Chair Giancarlo. “The agency’s work to carry out its mission to foster open, transparent, competitive and financially sound markets free from fraud and manipulation has never been more important. I strongly believe that a five member commission will inform the best and most lasting work possible. Dan and Dawn bring knowledge and experience to the Commission that will be respected and appreciated by all. I look forward to working with them to keep America’s derivatives markets strong and the envy of the world.”

The new Commissioners join the agency at a very dynamic time as it seeks to manage, and engage with, the rapidly evolving digital currency market.

Sponsored Links by DQ Promote

You may also like...

Send this to a friend