House Financial Services Committee Chair Announces Committee Staff, Plans to Pursue Innovation in Financial Services as Well as Robust Oversight


Congressman Patrick McHenry, the Chairman of the powerful House Financial Services Committee, has announced the Committee staff for the 118th Congress.

McHenry recently posted his newly formed subcommittees as well as each subcommittee Chair. The Congressman aims to shift the direction of legislation emanating out of the committee to be more supportive of Fintech innovation and capital formation while holding regulators accountable in pursuing their responsibilities. The Committee’s previous incarnation, under the control of Democrats, was more focused on consumer protection and social agendas. While these topics have importance, addressing issues of financial innovation took a back seat in regard to legislation. The Fintech industry, including blockchain advocates and online capital formation, is anticipating more support for innovation.

McHenry commented on his boosted staff:

“I’m a firm believer that talented staff makes the work of members, and Congress as a whole, possible. Each individual brings a unique background and expertise that will help Committee Republicans deliver on our agenda to conduct robust oversight of the Biden administration, foster innovation, and expand opportunity for all Americans. I look forward to working with this distinguished team to advance commonsense solutions to the most pressing issues facing our financial system.”

As any DC insider knows, staff play a key and vital role in doing the heavy lifting of crafting legislation, which can be arcane and highly nuanced – more so in the financial services sector.

House Financial Services Committee majority staff for the 118thCongress:

  • Matthew Hoffmann—Staff Director
  • Kimberly Betz—Chief Counsel and Policy Director
  • Lindsey Shackelford—Director of Operations
  • Laura Peavey—Communications Director
  • Larry Seyfried—Director of Member Services and Coalitions
  • Rachel Kaldahl—Chief Oversight Counsel
  • Will Anderson—Capital Markets Subcommittee Staff Director
  • Allison Behuniak—Digital Assets, Financial Technology and Inclusion Subcommittee Staff Director
  • Jeff Wrase—Financial Institutions and Monetary Policy Subcommittee Staff Director
  • Ed Skala—Housing and Insurance Subcommittee Staff Director & Senior Advisor
  • Nels Nordquist—National Security, Illicit Finance, and International Financial Institutions Subcommittee Staff Director
  • William Barry—Press Secretary
  • Beau Brooks—Deputy Press Secretary
  • Rachel Collins—General Counsel
  • Brighton Haslett—Senior Counsel
  • Kyle Smithwick—Deputy Chief Oversight Counsel
  • Nicholle Vo—Senior Oversight Counsel
  • Michael Case—Professional Oversight Staff
  • McArn Bennett—Senior Capital Markets Counsel
  • Michael Lucia—Capital Markets Counsel
  • Johnny Gahrib—Capital Markets Detailee
  • Lindsey Kelleher—Digital Assets, Financial Technology and Inclusion Professional Staff
  • Will Shannon—Capital Markets and Digital Assets, Financial Technology and Inclusion Policy Analyst
  • Kathleen Palmer—Financial Institutions and Monetary Policy Senior Professional Staff
  • Brian Wemple—Financial Institutions and Monetary Policy Professional Staff
  • Lucas Beirne—Financial Institutions and Monetary Policy Detailee
  • Anthony Chang—National Security, Illicit Finance, and International Financial Institutions Senior Professional Staff
  • Phil Poe—National Security, Illicit Finance, and International Financial Institutions Senior Professional Staff
  • Matt Rosenthal—National Security, Illicit Finance, and International Financial Institutions, & Financial Institutions and Monetary Policy Policy Analyst
  • Trish Halloran—Majority Clerk
  • Torie Cox—Senior Staff Assistant

Register Now
Sponsored Links by DQ Promote