FinTech Australia Announces New Board of Directors


FinTech Australia has announced the election of its new Board of Directors. The new Board is said to align with constitutional changes regarding gender diversity and representation from a broad number of states.

On June 1, 2017, the Fintech industry association’s members voted in six board positions, out of the nine person board, for a 12-month term. The candidates were elected from nine nominees, of which four were women. Additionally, several existing directors will be continuing on with their board responsibilities: -Jack Quigley (WA representative and founder/CEO of CrowdfundUP), and Stuart Stoyan (Victorian representative and founder/CEO of MoneyPlace). Simon Cant, who is the founder and managing director of the Reinventure Group, will also be continuing as director and was elected unopposed to continue as Chair.

The new board members are:

  • David Ball – CEO and co-founder of HyperBank (Queensland representative)
  • Natalie Dinsdale – Director of Marketing at Tyro (NSW representative)
  • Luke Howes – Co-founder and CEO of Proviso (South Australian representative)
  • Lucy Liu – Chief Operating Officer of Airwallex (Victorian representative)
  • Alan Tsen – CEO of The Week in Bitcoin (Victorian representative)
  • Emma Weston – Co-founder and CEO of AgriDigital (NSW representative)

“We have undergone some important constitutional changes, to promote representation from States right across Australia and also to guarantee that at least 30 per cent of board members are women,” said Cant. “We are very happy we have reached this gender diversity target with our new board and that nearly half of the nominees were women. The gender diversity change in particular represents a leadership action by FinTech Australia to help drive improved female representation across our industry, following the finding last year that just 13 per cent of senior fintech positions were held by women.”

Can added that it was exciting to see board representation from every mainland Australian state. He said this was indicative of strong and growing Fintech hubs across all of their capital cities.

Cant also thanked the three retiring directors for their outstanding service: Alex Scandurra (CEO of Stone & Chalk), Charlotte Petris (Founder/CEO of Timelio) and Nicholas Motteram (Founder/MD of On-Market BookBuilds).

“These three directors have provided invaluable expertise, thought leadership and support for FinTech Australia in its formative first year – the Australian fintech community has been fortunate to have such high calibre leaders championing its collective interests,” stated Cant.

Cant said the board would have a vital role to help grow the Australian Fintech industry, as this industry increasingly becomes the first choice of many Australians when it comes to financial services.

“I look forward to the input of the new board members when it comes to setting our strategic priorities for the year and years ahead,” shared Cant.

Fintech Australia held its inaugural annual meeting in March of 2016. The association seeks to make Australia one of the world’s leading markets for Fintech innovation and investment.

Sponsored Links by DQ Promote


Send this to a friend